主頁 > 關於我們 > 基金背景及歷史

 

基金背景及歷史

背景

1975年,明德醫院護士史密斯女士創辦首屆慈善抬轎比賽,以宣傳山頂明德國際醫院的優良位置及設施。抬轎比賽慈善基金亦正式成立。

我們的使命

抬轎比賽慈善基金的成立,旨在透過每年10月舉辦的抬轎比賽暨慈善嘉年華為本地慈善團體籌款。每年比賽吸引了超過40支隊伍參賽及2,000名市民到場支持。此外,基金亦會舉辦其他籌款活動,籌募更多善款以幫助其他有需要人士。基金的受惠機構均是一些未能籌得充足資源的慈善團體。明德國際醫院並不受惠於此籌款活動。

一年一度的盛事

抬轎比賽既緊張刺激又有趣。雖然參賽隊伍在不同時間出發,但都在熱烈的歡呼及吶喊聲下衝過終點。慈善賣物會中設置了各式各樣美食、購物、遊戲攤位,又邀請不同團體作現場表演,無論大人或小朋友都定必樂在其中。活動當日所籌得的善款,均全數撥捐超過30個本地慈善團體。

 

基金的由來

轎子及明德醫院,有如維多利亞港及帆船一樣,是香港傳統之一。今日的明德國際醫院,是由一位樂善好施的香港成功商人及慈善家Granville Sharp成立,當他於1899年8月去世時,他囑咐家人利用剩下的遺產去經營一所醫院,以讚頌天主的榮譽及記念他的妻子Matilda Lincoln,並以妻子的名字Matilda命名醫院。

 

Matilda和Granville Sharp於1858年聖誕節來港,展開他們婚後的生活。當時,香港的陡峭地勢及窄巷都經常擠滿行人及以轎子運送市民及貨物的搬運員。這成了Matilda對香港的第一印象。

 

第一屆抬轎比賽

史密斯女士翻查醫院歷史,發現轎子及人力車是醫院在1907年創立時,運送病人的主要交通工具,故決定創辦抬轎比賽。第一屆抬轎比賽於1975年舉行,當年只有四隊參與競逐「明德醫院盾」。

 

由首屆賽事開始,抬轎比賽不是旨在為明德醫院籌款,旨在吸引大眾參觀醫院的設備及優良位置。時至今日,比賽仍依照此方針舉行,所有善款亦全數捐贈本地慈善團體。抬轎慈善基金委員都全力以赴,使抬轎比賽延續下去,並成為香港傳統及運動界的盛事。

時至今日,抬轎比賽已為本地慈善團體籌得將近七千萬港元善款,合共資助了138個本地慈善團體,為有需要人士提供支援。抬轎比賽慈善基金延續了Granville Sharp成立明德醫院的遺願,繼續支持本地有需要的人士。

Home > About us > Background & history

 

Background of the Sedan Chair Charities Fund

Background

In 1975 Nurse Joyce Smith created a competitive sedan chair race for charity as a means to showcase the location and facilities of the Matilda International Hospital. From this the Sedan Chair Charities Fund was established.

Our Mission

Our aim is to raise money for needy charities in Hong Kong mainly through our annual October Sedan Chair Race and Bazaar, supported by over 45 running teams and 2,000 visitors. We also organise various fund-raising activities to raise more money. The fund raised goes to support charitable organisations that are lesser known and have very limited resources to do fundraising themselves – none go to the Matilda International Hospital.

The Annual Event

Event day itself is exciting and fun – teams set off at intervals and finish to a crowd of cheering and admiration. Live entertainment, games, fantastic bargains, and a wide array of food and drinks make for an enjoyable Bazaar for children and adults. All proceeds go towards our fundraising target for the charities. The money raised from this annual event benefits around 30 local charities.

 

In the Beginning

Sedan chairs and "Matilda" are as much a part of Hong Kong's heritage as Victoria Harbour and sailing clippers. The Matilda International Hospital, as it is known today, was founded by successful Hong Kong businessman and philanthropist Granville Sharp. When he died in August 1899, his will stipulated that after family legacies, the residue of his estate was to be used "...to build and maintain a hospital to the glory of God and the good of man in loving memory of my sainted wife, Matilda Lincoln, the same to be called Matilda Hospital."

 

Matilda and Granville Sharp had arrived in Hong Kong by sea on Christmas Day 1858 to start their married life together. In those early pioneering days Hong Kong's steep terrain and narrow lanes were bustling with pedestrians and porters carrying goods on poles and passengers in sedan chairs. The sight of these sedan chairs was one of Matilda's earliest impressions of Hong Kong.

The First Sedan Chair Race

Sister Smith had undertaken research into the history of the Hospital. The concept of sedan chairs was chosen because they and rickshaws were the only means of transportation to the Hospital when it first opened in 1907. Thus the First Sedan Chair Race was inaugurated in 1975 with four entrants running for "The Matilda Hospital Shield".

 

From the outset, the Sedan Chair Race was not to raise money for the hospital but to attract people to "Matilda" to see for themselves its facilities and magnificent location. This founding mission continues today as all the money raised from the Race is donated to local Hong Kong charities. The Sedan Chair Charities Fund Committee work hard to ensure this event continues as part of Hong Kong sporting calendar and heritage.

 

To date, the Sedan Chair Race has raised around $70 million and has helped 138 local charities who are committed to aiding our community members in need. Sedan Chair Charities Fund is continuing Granville Sharp's legacy of Matilda to support Hong Kong's needy.